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OHIO STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

Course Breakdown for 240 Hour Hair Designer Manager Training Program

Subject Area
Non

Clinic
Minimum

Clinic
Minimum

Subject
Minimum

Core
Curriculum

Subject
Maximum

Clinic
Minimum

Non-
Clinic

Minimum

1. Cosmetology Laws & Rules
•  Ohio Revised Code Statutes
•  Ohio Administrative Rules
•  License and Permit Policy &

Procedures
•  Continuing Education

Policies & Procedures
•  Inspection and Enforcement

Policy and Procedures

10 20 40

50

12.5/25/50

60 30 15

2.  Public Health and Safety
•  Sanitation Practices &

Procedures
•  Sterilization Practices &

Procedures
•  Dispensary Operations &

Procedures
•  Bacteriology, Contagious and

Communicable Disease
Control

•  Salon Operations &
Procedures

•  Consumer and Product Safety

10 20 40
50

12.5/25/50

60 30 15

3.  Advanced Techniques
•  Advanced Anatomy of Hair

& Scalp
•  Advanced Haircutting &

Styling
•  Advanced Chemical Services
•  Salon Supervision &

Management
•  Specialized Equipment Use

and Control
•  Product and Service Sales

Training
•  Communication Skills

28 56 112

140

35/70/140

168 84 42

Total
240

60/120/240

Parameters:
1.  Each school must prepare and maintain on file a curriculum within the parameters of the subject averages.
2.  In each subject area, the school may elect a minimum of 80% of the subject average.
3.  In each subject area, the school may elect a maximum of 120% of subject average.
4.  Of school’s election in each subject area, a  minimum of 25% must be in class.
5.  Of school’s  election in each subject area, a minimum of 50% must be in clinic.
6.  Class time should be at least 25%  (60 hours)
7.  Clinic time should be at least 50%  (120 hours)


