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Continuing Education Provider Course Approval Instructions 
CORRESPONDENCE ONLY 

Course application and required documentation must be received by the Board at least 45 days 
prior to initial course offering to allow for the approval process to be completed. 

Course approval will be valid for the licensing period beginning 
July 2, 2021 through January 15, 2023. 

Licensees are required to have CE hours completed by January 15, 2023. 

NOTICE TO PROVIDERS 

The Board requires all CE providers to submit course applications, fee payments, course date 
notifications, and class attendance records through the CE Broker website.  If you are currently an 
approved CE course provider for the Board, please contact CE Broker to gain access to your account. New 
providers will need to go to the CE Broker website and set-up an account. 

CE Broker Contact Information:  www.cebroker.com
To contact the CE Broker support center or to activate your pre-loaded Provider account, call 
Monday-Friday, 8AM-8PM at 877-434-6323 or email support@cebroker.com

CE courses/programs can only be approved by the Board if operated by an employee, officer, or director of a 
nonprofit professional association, college or university, proprietary continuing education institution providing 
programs approved by the Board, vocational school, postsecondary proprietary school of cosmetology licensed 
by the Board, salon licensed by the board, or manufacturer of supplies or equipment used in the practice of a 
branch of cosmetology. Therefore, individuals that do not meet the requirement are not eligible to provide 
continuing education courses.

Licensees are required to have CE hours completed by January 15, 2023.

CE Providers are required to submit class attendance records within 10 days of class completion. 

CE Providers are not permitted to include Board laws and rules in CE courses.

Continuing Education Hours Requirement

Individuals that hold a cosmetology or branch of cosmetology license and/or instructor license 
are required to complete the following hours of continuing education per license held for the 
2021-2023 renewal period:

One (1) hour/Board laws and rules Class:  Free class only offered by the Board.

One (1) hour/personal wellness: Which may include, but is not limited to, courses on mental health, 
substance abuse, trauma, and crisis management. 

Three (3) hours/Safety and Infection Control: If included in a course with other material must be a full 
three-hour segment.  Stand-alone Safety and Infection control courses that are less than three (3) hours 
will not be approved.

Three (3) hours/Scope Specific: Subject matter must be compliant with scope of practice for the license 
held.

http://www.cos.ohio.gov/
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A full version of the the Board's Laws and Rules can be located at: www.cos.ohio.gov Click on the Laws & 
Rules tab, and select the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) or Ohio Revised Code (ORC).  

REMINDER: 
Courses designed for Cosmetologists or Estheticians that include education on chemical, mechanical, or 
electrical services, such as microdermabrasion or chemical peels must include manufacturer’s information/
MSDS to ensure the machine and/or product is within the scope of practice permitted by the Board.  
This information must be submitted with the course application. 

Cosmetologists and Estheticians must adhere to the following guidelines: 

Exfoliate stratum corneum cells only. Any chemical, mechanical or electrical service that only exfoliates 
cells of the stratum corneum may be used.  

Provide treatments only utilizing equipment not to exceed one hundred eighty (180) nanometers, or a 
class one medical device as defined by the food and drug administration of the United States department 
of health and human services. 

Services using any device that produces or amplifies electromagnetic radiation at wavelengths equal or greater 
to one hundred eighty (180) nanometers  are not permitted.

Chemical peels performed by an esthetician or cosmetologist shall be mixed and used at an ingredient 
concentration of thirty per cent solution or less at final formulation with a pH value not less than three, unless all 
of the following conditions are met:

(1) The chemical peel preparation is a commercially available product approved for use by cosmetologists and/or estheticians;

(2) The licensee can provide documentation from the manufacturer that the specific product does not penetrate below the
stratum corneum when used as directed;

(3) The licensee can provide documentation of training and/or certification in the use of the product;

(4) The licensee follows all manufacturer's directions in the use of the chemical peel preparation; and

(5) The preparation is stored according to the manufacturer's specifications and is discarded after its expiration date.

Estheticians and Cosmetologist shall not provide services that ablate, damage, or alter any living cells. This 
includes, but is not limited to, cryosculpting/coolsculpting, removal of skin tags, moles, or angiomas, microneedling, 
and plasma/fibroblast skin tightening.

NOTE:  The three (3) hour Safety/Sanitation continuing education must be a separate 
course if a licensee wants to apply it to more than one license.  Safety/sanitation CE that is 
taken in combination with a scope of practice class cannot be used for additional license types 
held.   

CE Requirement- Boutique Service Registration
Individuals that hold a Boutique Service Registration are required to complete the following hours 
for the 2021-2023 renewal period. 

One (1) hour/Board laws and rules Class: Free class only offered by the Board.

Four (4) hours/Safety and Infection Control: If included in a course with other material must be a full 
four-hour segment.  Stand-alone Safety and Infection control courses that are less than four (4) hours 
will not be approved.
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Items 1-4 must be submitted for initial CE course approval: 

1. Course Application – Complete through the CE Broker website.

2. Course Fee $250.00 (per course) Fee is Non-Refundable

3. Course Outline(s) Requirements

• Must include a full course description.

• Outline of course material including timeframes.

• Page numbers must be included on course content.
• Hours can only be given for educational time (Registration, promotions, printing out

certificates, etc.) cannot be included in CE hours given.

•

Outline(s) must include a full course description including time frames.

•

•

Course outline(s) must be comprised of separate whole hour segments.•

A minimum of 6,000 words per hour segment of educational material must be
presented.  Word count for each segment must be included.

•

Subject matter must be contained within one hour segments.

•

A minimum of six (6) randomly selected, multiple choice questions must be included
following each hour segment of material.

•

A bank of randomized test questions, with five (5) different versions of each question is
required.

•

There must be at least five (5) printed versions of course booklet with identifiers known
only to the provider and the board.  Each booklet shall have a unique identification
number so that only one individual may answer the questions for the CE credit.
A list of how material segments will be grouped for each printed version of the course.

• The provider may accept test question answers via mail, phone, or email.  If a provider
selects to accept answers to test questions via online/website; actual test questions shall
NOT be posted, ONLY the answer sheet can be made available. Individual
identification number must be included on online/website answer sheet.

• The licensee shall NOT receive credit for the course unless a total score of seventy-five
(75) percent or higher is achieved.

4. Educator(s) Resume/Bio

• Credentials to support the qualifications of each educator and person developing the
course shall be submitted.

• Credentials must be directly related to the submitted course curriculum.
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CE Course Approval 

Instructor ONLY CE Course 

• Course must be designed for instructor CE only and cannot be combined with other scope of
practice material.

• Curriculum for an instructor only course must be based on topics related to the instruction
of a branch of cosmetology:

Direct Instructional Activity        Lesson Plan Development 
How-to-Instructional Course       Instructional Methods       
How to Teach Hands-on-Learning  

Course Approval Numbers 
Course approval numbers and/or tracking numbers shall not be published on any advertisements, 
websites, correspondence books, etc. Approval numbers shall only be provided to a licensee 
upon completion of the approved course.     

Upon course approval, the CE provider will receive an approval email that will include the CE Broker 
course TRACKING NUMBER and the Ohio COURSE APPROVAL NUMBER. The Course 
Approval number and the Tracking number must be used on the certificates of completion. The 
TRACKING number is required when reporting attendance records to CE Broker. 

The approval and tracking number are valid until the expiration date listed in the approval email. 

Certificate of Completion – Required  
Provider must give any licensee completing a CE class a “certificate of completion” 
immediately upon conclusion of class.   Each certificate of completion must contain the following:     

    CE course approval number Number of CE hours 

Title of CE course 
Date of course 

Name/address of course provider 
Name/Ohio license ID # of attendee   

It is the responsibility of the CE provider to maintain attendance records for a minimum of four 
years.  Providers must be able to give a licensee who has lost or misplaced their certificate of 
completion a duplicate.  

Electronic Attendance Record Submission - Required 
The Board (6) digit license number with prefix is required for each individual listed on

an attendance record.  Example: COS.111111  and  BTQR.111111

License numbers for individuals can be verified on the Board’s website at:  https://license.ohio.gov/

Attendance record(s) must be submitted to CE Broker within ten (10) days of class completion.

Record(s) of attendance must be maintained by the course provider for a minimum of four
(4) years.

•

•

•

•

Contact Information: 
Cathy Franklin 
Continuing Education Administrator 
Phone: 614-728-8197 
Email – cathy.franklin@cos.ohio.gov Revised 04122021

mailto:cathy.franklin@cos.state.oh.us
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